Honorary Members

Share this page

Honorary Members of the Russell Society


Tariq Ali

Mario Bunge

Noam Chomsky

Elizabeth R. Eames

Daniel Ellsberg

Christopher Farley

Taslima Nasrin

John Allen Paulos

John Russell

Amartya Sen

Katharine Russell Tait

Ibn Warraq



Each honorary member meets at least one of the following criteria:
1. is a member of BR’s family; 2. had worked closely with BR in an important
way; 3. has made a distinctive contribution to BR scholarship; 4. has acted
in support of a cause or idea that BR championed; 5. has promoted awareness
of BR or of BR’s work; 6. has exhibited qualities of character (such as moral
courage) reminiscent of BR.

Past honorary members (now deceased): A.J. Ayer, Ken Coates, Peter
Cranford, Lester Denonn, Paul Edwards, Antony Flew, Michael Foot,
Ivor Grattan-Guinness, Paul Kurtz, Nelson Mandela, Linus Pauling,
David Pears, Karl Popper, W.V. Quine, Conrad Russell, Dora Russell,
Edith Russell, John Conrad Russell, Paul A. Schilpp