Welcome to The Bertrand Russell Society Online Forum

The Bertrand Russell Society Online Forum

Author Topic: Russell's smile  (Read 1457 times)

June 02, 2013, 12:48:48 PM

Some time ago, Ken and I discussed Russell’s smile and associated problems with his oral health. As a dentist, I asked to obtain his dental records but was unable to secure a copy. Oh well. Russell had decayed teeth and more importantly infected gums. Despite sixty something years of smoking he avoided cancer. His poor dental  health adversely affected his relationships and his confidence. This is a basic hygiene issue everyone experiences. Apart from one having an ugly face, bad breath due to periodontal disease is the next sensation. It is  the next test one must ‘pass.’ For a celebrity such as Russell, each sentence, each encounter, each friendship is more carefully scrutinized than an armchair intellectual. Despite the emphasis of our brains ahead of our bodies we are animals with a sexual drive. We want that pleasure and to attract a mate we must make ourselves desirable.   

The philosopedia entry for B.R. regarding his smile stated:

“Russell’s marriage to Ottoline Morrell had been expected to bring him some degree of sexual happiness, for he told friends of his having been disappointed sexually with Alys Pearsall Smith. Russell later wrote that his pyorrhea and bad breath were in part responsible for their breakup,”

Old photos, especially those of famous people, as we all know, almost never show teeth. People used to be portrayed as serious all the time. Teddy Roosevelt’s broad celebratory grin is the first to my knowledge. Then, of course, John Kennedy. Now, evidently, we have time to be silly and happy as evidenced in each photo of each of us personally, those politically, Madison Ave. advertising efforts and of course Hollywood.

Here are some selected photos of BR with smiles include:

These photos are extensive but I have to stop sometime…